The MS Registry

Introduction

In 2001, the German Multiple Sclerosis Society (DMSG) initiated the installation of a Multiple Sclerosis Register (MS Register) for Germany. For this purpose, the MS Research and Project Development gGmbH (MSFP) was founded to manage the MS Register. In 2005, the MS Register started regular operations and has been continually developed and expanded since then. Most recently, more than 15,000 patients per year were reported by the centers listed by the DMSG. On average, two consultations per patient and year were documented.

Awards for (rehab) clinics and practices based on the guidelines of the DMSG, Bundesverband e.V.

Participation in the MS Registry of the DMSG, Bundesverband e. V. is a prerequisite for receiving the certificate "MS Center","Specialized MS Center", and "MS Rehabilitation Center", awarded by the DMSG. The certificates are awarded to university clinics, acute care clinics, rehabilitation clinics, MS outpatient clinics, and neurological practices if they meet the specified criteria. Adherence must be confirmed every two years. The criteria catalog developed by independent MS experts focuses on a guideline-based treatment by neurologists and professionals specialized in MS, as well as on disabled accessible equipment of the facility. Depending on the center type, a minimum number of MS patients must be treated per year in the centers.

Part of these treated MS patients must be recorded in the MS Registry. MS Special Centers thus must document at least 150 data sets per year, MS Rehabilitation Centers at least 80 or 120, and MS Centers at least 80. At the moment, the DMSG has decorated 71 centers as "Specialized MS Center", 97 as "MS Center", and 22 as "MS Rehabilitation Center". The geographic distribution of the centers in Germany is mostly homogen, with a slight West-East and South-North gradient as well as clusters in metropolitan areas. You can find the exact distribution and number of centers here.

Current results from the MS Register of the DMSG

In October 2020, the proportion of women with MS compared to earlier analyses remained nearly unchanged at 71.3%. The mean age was 47.1 (± 12.4) years, while the mean age at the disease onset was 33.2 (±10.7) years. On average, it takes 1.7 (± 4.0) years from symptom onset to MS diagnosis. 74.8% of the documented MS patients have relapsing-remitting MS (RRMS), 15.4% secondary progressive MS(SPMS) and 6.6% primary progressive MS(PPMS). 1.8% had a clinically isolated syndrome (CIS) and 1.5% could not be clearly classified. The mean EDSS score (a measure of the degree of disability) was 3.0.

The following analysis, which is also shown as graphic of the quarter on the DMSG website, provides an overview of the frequency and therapy of relapses in patients with a relapsing form of MS. The diagram shows that the frequency of relapses in patients with relapsing MS forms decreases with increasing disease duration. In the first year of the disease, relapses usually occur as a so-called first symptom and often mark the beginning of the MS disease. In the course of the disease, the mean of annual relapses decreases from 0.25 in the second year after disease onset to 0.10 in the third decade. The average number of relapses per person and year is 0.16 across sexes. Depending on the disease severity there can be significant differences between individual MS courses. For example, there are patients who suffer from six relapses per year, while 87% of MS patients were relapse-free in the same period.

 

At the joint congress of ACTRIMS and ECTRIMS (American and European Committee for Treatment and Research in Multiple Sclerosis), the MS Registry was represented as part of the SPMS research collaboration network (RCN) with three virtual contributions. While Lars Forsberg presented the results of the validation of three different methods for the classification of MS patients into relapsing or secondary progressive forms, Jan Hillert focused on the characteristics of patients with SPMS misclassified as RRMS. Data from MS registries in Denmark (10,255 patients), Germany (23,185 patients), United Kingdom (5,086 patients), Sweden (11,247 patients), and the Czech Republic (11,336 patients) were used for the RCN studies. Using the decision tree classifier of the Karolinska Institute, a total of 8,372 RRMS patients were reclassified to SPMS in the five registries, increasing the overall proportion of SPMS patients from 17% to 31%. The overall proportion of clinically determined SPMS patients on disease-modifying therapy (DMT) was 36%, but varied widely between the registries. The overall proportion of newly assigned SPMS patients on DMT was significantly higher at 69%. The conclusion of the study is that SPMS patients on DMT are often clinically misclassified as RRMS patients. This raises questions about the use of the time from MS onset to the conversion of relapsing to secondary progressive MS form as a measure of the efficacy of DMTs and argues for the use of objective categorization methods when analyzing MS patient populations.

MS Registry documentation

Since 2014, there has been a web-based, platform- and device-independent research database for the documentation of MS Registry data. The research database relies on established tools and the concepts of the TMF e. V. for collaborative research. It is also possible to integrate so-called patient-reported outcomes (PRO), for instance for quality of life data that are self-documented by the patients via app or web.

Quality & data Management

Using implemented value range and plausibility controls, the research database recognizes and reports incorrect information already at the time of entry. In addition, downstream quality control in combination with query management ensure data quality.

International cooperation

The MS Registry participates in the EMSP-Initiative "Multiple Sclerosis Data Alliance" (MSDA), whose main purpose is to implement a minimal data set and quality standards, approved by the European Medicine Agency (EMA), in as many MS data registries and cohorts as possible in order to enable the use of registries for questions of safety and efficiency of MS therapies in the future. Since the beginning of the Corona pandemic, the MS Registry has participated in the Global Data Sharing Initiative of MSDA and the MS International Federation on COVID-19. Initial results presented at the joint ACTRIMS/ECTRIMS Congress in September 2020 suggest that anti-CD20 agents (eg, Rituximab and Ocrelizumab) may be associated with more severe COVID-19 courses.

Supporters of the MS Registry

The MS Registry of the DMSG has been financed since 2001 by the DMS Foundation and the DMSG, Bundesverband e. V. The MSFP receives project funding from the Innovation Fund of the G-BA and the German Pension Insurance (DRV Bund), among others. Since 2018, companies from the pharmaceutical industry have also been supporting the MS Registry as part of a multistakeholder funding. This primarily supports the establishment and operation of the recording of adverse events.

In 2018, the MSFP received financial support from Novartis and Merck Serono, which was used, among other things, to implement the EMA recommendations of a harmonized registry dataset. In 2019, Biogen and Celgene (BristolMeyerSquibb) joined the multistakeholder sponsorship. In 2020, the registry operations, particularly in the area of drug safety and the payment of documentation fees to participating centers, was supported by Biogen, BristolMeyerSquibb, Merck, Roche, and Sanofi with unified contributions.

Das MS-Register

Einführung

Im Jahr 2001 initiierte der Bundesverband der Deutschen Multiple Sklerose Gesellschaft e.V. (DMSG) die Einrichtung eines Multiple Sklerose Registers (MS-Register) für Deutschland. Hierfür wurde die MS Forschungs- und Projektentwicklungs-gGmbH (MSFP) gegründet, um das MS-Register zu betreiben. 2005 ging das MS-Register in den Regelbetrieb über und wird seitdem kontinuierlich ausgebaut und weiterentwickelt. Zuletzt wurden jährlich über 15.000 Patienten durch die von der DMSG ausgezeichneten Zentren erfasst, wobei auf einen Patienten im Durchschnitt zwei Konsultationen pro Jahr entfielen.

Auszeichnung für (Reha-)Kliniken und Praxen nach den Richtlinien der DMSG, Bundesverband e.V.

Die Teilnahme am MS-Register der DMSG, Bundesverband e. V. ist eine der Voraussetzungen für die Verleihung der Zertifikate „MS-Zentrum“, „MS-Schwerpunktzentrum“ und „MS-Rehabilitationszentrum“, welche von der DMSG vergeben werden. Sie werden an Universitätskliniken, Akutkliniken, Rehabilitationskliniken, MS-Ambulanzen und neurologische Praxen verliehen, sofern diese festgelegte Kriterien erfüllen, deren Einhaltung alle zwei Jahre nachgewiesen werden muss. Der Kriterienkatalog, der von unabhängigen MS-Experten erarbeitet wurde, setzt u. a. eine auf Leitlinien gestützte Behandlung durch auf MS spezialisierte Neurologen und Fachkräfte sowie eine barrierefreie Ausstattung der Einrichtung voraus. Von den Zentren wird je nach Zentrumsart eine Mindestanzahl von jährlich zu behandelnden MS-Patienten gefordert. Ein Teil dieser MS-Patienten muss für das MS-Register erfasst werden.
So müssen MS-Schwerpunktzentren mindestens 150, MS-Rehabilitationszentren mindestens 80 bzw. 120 und MS-Zentren mindestens 80 Datensätze pro Jahr dokumentieren. Die deutschlandweite Verteilung der Zentren ist überwiegend homogen, mit einem leichten West-Ost- sowie Süd-Nord-Gradienten und Häufungen in Ballungsgebieten. Die genaue Verteilung und Anzahl der Zentren finden sie hier.

Aktuelle Ergebnisse aus dem MS-Register der DMSG

Im Oktober 2020 lag der Anteil der an MS erkrank-ten Frauen im Vergleich zu früheren Auswer-tungen fast unverändert bei 71,3 %. Das Durch-schnittsalter liegt bei 47,1 (± 12,4) Jahren, während das Durchschnittsalter bei Beginn der Erkrankung 33,2 (± 10,7) Jahre beträgt. Im Schnitt vergehen noch 1,7 (± 4,0) Jahre bis zur MS-Diagnosestellung. 74,8 % der dokumentierten MS-Erkrankten haben einen schubförmigen Verlauf (RRMS), 15,4 % einen sekundär progredienten (SPMS) und 6,6 % einen primär progredienten Verlauf (PPMS). 1,8 % hatten ein klinisch isoliertes Syndrom (KIS) und 1,5 % konnten nicht eindeutig klassifiziert werden. Der Schweregrad der Erkrankung (EDSS-Score) liegt bei durchschnittlich 3,0.

Die folgende Auswertung, die als Grafik des Quartals* auf der Webseite der DMSG erschien, gibt einen Überblick über die Häufigkeit und Therapie von Schüben bei Erkrankten mit einer schubförmigen MS-Verlaufsform. Das Diagramm zeigt, dass die Auftrittshäufigkeit von Schüben bei Patienten mit einer schubför-migen MS-Verlaufsform mit zunehmender Krankheitsdauer abnimmt. Im ersten Jahr der Erkrankung sind Schübe als sogenanntes Erst-symptom fast immer vorhanden und markieren oft den Beginn der MS-Erkrankung. Im Krankheitsverlauf nimmt die durchschnittliche Anzahl an jährlichen Schüben in den ersten drei Jahrzehnten der Erkrankung von 0,25 im zweiten Jahr auf 0,10 im dritten Jahrzehnt ab. Die durchschnittliche Anzahl an Schüben liegt pro Person und Jahr geschlechterübergreifend bei 0,16. Je nach Schwere der Erkrankung können große Unterschiede zwischen einzelnen MS-Erkrankten vorliegen. So gibt es Erkrankte, die bis zu sechs Schübe im Jahr erlitten, während 87 % der MS-Erkrankten im selben Zeitraum schubfrei waren.

* Seit Anfang 2020 erscheint vierteljährlich eine Auswertung aus dem MS-Register zu unterschiedlichen Themen auf www.dmsg.de.

Auf dem gemeinsamen Kongress der ACTRIMS und ECTRIMS (American bzw. European Com-mittee for Treatment and Research in Multiple Sclerosis) war das MS-Register als Teil des SPMS research collaboration networks (RCN) mit drei virtuellen Beiträgen vertreten. Während im Vortrag von Lars Forsberg die Ergebnisse der Validierung von drei verschiedenen Methoden zur Einordnung von MS-Patienten in die schubförmige oder sekundär-progrediente Verlaufsform vorgestellt wurden, ging es im Vortrag von Jan Hillert um die Merkmale der Patienten mit einer als RRMS fehlklassifizierten SPMS. Für die RCN-Studien wurden Daten aus MS-Registern aus Dänemark (10.255 Patienten), Deutschland (23.185 Patienten), Großbritannien (5.086 Patienten), Schweden (11.247 Patienten) und Tschechien (11.336 Patienten) herangezogen. Unter Verwendung des Entscheidungsbaum-Klassifikators des Karolinska Instituts wurden in den fünf Registern insgesamt 8.372 RRMS-Patienten der SPMS neu zugeordnet, was den Anteil an SPMS-Betroffenen von insgesamt 17 % auf 31 % erhöhte. Der Gesamtanteil der klinisch bestimmten SPMS-Patienten mit einer krankheitsmodifizierenden Therapie (DMT) betrug 36 %, variierte jedoch stark zwischen den Registern. Der Gesamtanteil der neu zugewiesenen SPMS-Patienten unter einer DMT fiel mit 69 % deutlich höher aus. Fazit der Studie ist, dass SPMS-Patienten mit einer DMT klinisch häufig als RRMS-Patienten fehlklassifiziert sind. Dies stellt die Verwendung der Zeit vom Beginn der MS bis zum Wechsel von der schubförmigen zur sekundär progredienten Verlaufsform als Maß bspw. für die Wirksamkeit von DMTs in Frage und spricht für die Nutzung objektiver Kategorisierungsmethoden bei der Analyse von MS-Patientenpopulationen.

MS-Registerdokumentation

Für die Dokumentation der MS-Registerdaten steht seit 2014 eine webbasierte, plattform- und geräteunabhängige Forschungsdatenbank zur Verfügung. Die Forschungsdatenbank basiert auf etablierten Tools und den Konzepten der TMF e. V. für die Verbundforschung. Sie ermöglicht zudem die Anbindung von sogenannten patient reported outcomes (PRO) bspw. in Form von Lebensqualitätsdaten, die die Patienten via App oder Web selbst dokumentieren.

Qualitäts- & Datenmanagement

In der Forschungsdatenbank werden mittels implementierter Wertebereichs- und Plausibilitätskontrollen fehlerhafte Angaben bereits weitgehend bei der Eingabe erkannt und zurückgemeldet. Darüber hinaus sichert eine nachgelagerte Qualitätskontrolle in Kombination mit einem Querymanagement die Datenqualität.

Internationale Kooperationen

Das MS-Register beteiligt sich an der EMSP-Initiative "Multiple Sclerosis Data Alliance" (MSDA). Das Hauptanliegen des Projekts ist die Implementierung eines von der EMA empfohlenen Mindestdatensatzes und von Qualitätsstandards in möglichst viele MS-Register und Datenkohorten mit dem Ziel, die Daten zukünftig für Fragestellungen der Sicherheit und Effizienz von MS-Therapien einsetzen zu können. Seit Beginn der Corona-Pandemie nimmt das MS-Register an der "Global Data Sharing Initiative" der MSDA und der MS International Federation zu COVID-19 teil. Die ersten Ergebnisse, die 2020 auf dem Kongress der ACTRIMS/ECTRIMS vorgestellt wurden, legen nahe, dass anti-CD20-Wirkstoffe (bspw. Rituximab und Ocrelizumab) mit schwereren COVID-19-Verläufen assoziiert sein könnten.

 

Unterstützer des MS-Registers

Der Aufbau und der Betrieb des MS-Registers der DMSG wurden seit 2001 aus den Mitteln der DMS Stiftung und der DMSG Bundesverband e. V. finanziert. Projektförderungen erhält die MSFP u. a. durch den Innovationsfonds des G-BA sowie die Deutsche Rentenversicherung (DRV Bund). Seit 2018 unterstützen im Rahmen einer Multistakeholder-Finanzierung auch Unternehmen der Pharmazeutischen Industrie das MS-Register. Hierbei wird primär der Aufbau und Betrieb der Nebenwirkungsverfolgung unterstützt.

Im Jahr 2018 erhielt die MSFP von Novartis und Merck Serono eine finanzielle Unterstützung für den Aufbau und zur Etablierung des MS-Registers, welche u. a. zur Umsetzung der EMA-Empfehlungen eines harmonisierten Registerdatensatzes eingesetzt wurde. In 2019 schlossen sich Biogen und Celgene (BristolMeyerSquibb) dem Multistakeholder-Sponsoring an. In 2020 wurde der Registerbetrieb, insbesondere im Bereich der Arzneimittelsicherheit und der im Aufbau befindlichen Auszahlung von Dokumentationspauschalen an teilnehmende Zentren von Biogen, BristolMeyerSquibb, Merck, Roche und Sanofi mit einheitlichen Beiträgen unterstützt.