TAMuS

Determinants of participation in work life with multiple sclerosis

Multiple Sclerosis is the most common chronic inflammatory disease of the central nervous system. In Germany, it is estimated that more than 200 000 patients are affected. The symptoms and disorders are varied, as all areas of the central nervous system (CNS) can be affected. Limitations in mobility and cognition as well as fatigue can influence the participation of those affected in work life at an early stage, and approximately 37% of patients are retired at an average age of 43 years. Participation in working life is essential for those affected and can have a positive effect on the course of disease and the quality of life. In addition, the labour absenteeism costs caused by the illness are higher than the illness costs.

Within the project "Determinants of participation in work life with multiple sclerosis" (TAMuS), which is being carried out in cooperation with the AN-Institute for Neurorehabilitation Magdeburg, it will be analyzed, which objective factors influence the maintenance of employment in MS patients over an observation period of two years and additionally, which subjective and workplace-specific factors effect on staying in employment over an observation period of one year. In addition to the use of register data (secondary data) and the written survey of people affected by MS (primary data), another special feature is the involvement of people affected by MS in a project advisory board with discussions of sub-steps and results of the project.

The knowledge gained serves to improve the chances of people with MS to participate in work life. Both objective and subjective factors influencing participation in work life are to be identified. These can be the basis for the design of medically and vocationally oriented rehabilitation services and thus improve the participation opportunities for those affected.

Roles

In the first part of the project, the MSFP analyzes MS registry data (secondary data analysis) and, together with the AN-Institute for Neurorehabilitation, develops, implements and monitors the planned primary data collection (postal and online survey of rehabilitation patients).

Duration

The project duration is scheduled for 36 month.

The project started in December 2020.

Funding

TAMuS is funded by the German Pension Insurance (DRV Bund, Division of Social Medicine and Rehabilitation).

TAMuS

Determinanten der Teilhabe am Arbeitsleben bei Multipler Sklerose

Multiple Sklerose ist die häufigste chronisch entzündliche Erkrankung des zentralen Nervensystems. In Deutschland sind schätzungsweise mehr als 200 000 Patienten davon betroffen. Die Symptome und Störungen sind vielfältig, da alle Bereiche des zentralen Nervensystems (ZNS) betroffen sein können. Vor allem Einschränkungen der Mobilität und Kognition sowie Fatigue können die Teilhabe der Betroffenen am Arbeitsleben bereits frühzeitig beeinflussen und ca. 37% der Patienten werden mit einem Durchschnittsalter von 43 Jahren berentet. Dabei ist gerade die Teilhabe am Arbeitsleben essentiell für die Betroffenen und kann sich positiv auf den Krankheitsverlauf und die Lebensqualität auswirken. Zudem sind die durch die Erkrankung verursachten Produktivitätsausfallkosten höher als die Krankheitskosten.

Im Rahmen des Projektes „Determinanten der Teilhabe am Arbeitsleben bei Multipler Sklerose“ (TAMuS), welches in Kooperation mit dem AN-Institut für Neurorehabilitation Magdeburg durchgeführt wird, soll analysiert werden, welche objektiven Faktoren den Erhalt der Erwerbstätigkeit bei MS-Patienten in einem Beobachtungszeitraum von zwei Jahren beeinflussen und zusätzlich, welche subjektiven und arbeitsplatzspezifischen Faktoren auf den Verbleib im Erwerbsleben in einem Beobachtungszeitraum von einem Jahr wirken. Neben der Nutzung von Registerdaten (Sekundärdaten) und der schriftlichen Befragung von MS-Betroffenen (Primärdaten) ist eine weitere Besonderheit die Einbindung MS-Betroffener in einem Projektbeirat mit Diskussion der Teilschritte und Ergebnisse des Projektes.

Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse dienen der Verbesserung der Teilhabechancen von MS- Betroffenen am Arbeitsleben. Es sollen sowohl objektive als auch subjektive Einflussfaktoren der Teilhabe am Arbeitsleben identifiziert werden. Diese können Grundlage der Gestaltung medizinisch und beruflich-orientierter Rehabilitationsleistungen sein und damit die Teilhabechancen der Betroffenen verbessern.

Aufgabe

Die MS Forschungs- und Projektentwicklungs-gGmbH analysiert im ersten Projektteil MS-Registerdaten (Sekundärdatenanalyse) und erarbeitet, implementiert und monitoriert gemeinsam mit dem AN-Institut für Neurorehabilitation die geplante Primärdatenerhebung (postalisch und Online-Befragung von Rehabilitanden).

Zeitraum

Die Laufzeit beträgt 36 Monate.

Projektstart: Dezember 2020

Förderung

TAMuS wird mit Mitteln der Deutschen Rentenversicherung (DRV Bund, Geschäftsbereich Sozialmedizin und Rehabilitation) gefördert.